Skip to main content
Last updated: 2026/10/16

Filter users

Supported Social Platforms
X (Twitter)
Supported Plans
FreePersonalProfessionalBusinessEnterprise

You can use filters to narrow down the users and posts you want to display.

What you can do with filters​

  • Display only users with many/few followers
  • Display only users whose Follower/Following ratio is close to 1
  • Exclude users you have followed in the past
  • Exclude users who post ads/promotional content
  • Exclude users who post adult content

Using Quick filters​

You can narrow down results using predefined filters. You can also register frequently used conditions to Quick filters.

  1. Click Inbox, Followers, or Post engagement from the menu.
  2. Click [Filter] in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Check the target items.

Using Advanced filters​

tip

Advanced filters are available for Personal, Professional, Business, and Enterprise plans.

If you want to set conditions freely, use the "Advanced filter".

  1. Click Inbox, Followers, or Post engagement from the menu.
  2. Click [Filter] in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Click [Advanced filter].
  4. Click [Add filter].
  5. Select the filter item you want to add.
    1. You can set multiple filters.
  6. Enter the filter conditions.
  7. After entering the filters, click [Apply].

Checking the number of users after applying filters​

When you apply a filter in the "Followers" function, you can see the number of users after applying the filter and the number of users before applying the filter at the top of the screen.

It is displayed in the format of Number of users after applying filter / Number of users before applying filter.

tip

If you have 30,000 or more followers, the number of users will not be displayed. For details, please refer to Functions not available for X (Twitter) accounts with many followers | Linking X (Twitter) accounts.

Saving frequently used filters as Quick filters​

Frequently used filters can be saved as Quick filters.

Saved Quick filters can be recalled with a single click from the Quick filter screen.

  1. Set "Advanced filters".
  2. Click "Save this filter".
  3. Name the filter to be saved.
  4. It will be saved as a Quick filter.
  5. The saved Quick filter can be immediately recalled from the Quick filter screen.

Deleting saved Quick filters​

  1. Click Inbox, Followers, or Post engagement from the menu.
  2. Click [Filter] in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. Click the "×" displayed to the right of the registered Quick filter.
  4. Confirm the message and click [Delete].

Use Cases

Here are some examples of how to use filters.

tip

Only Quick filters can be used in the SocialDog app.

If you want to draw lots in a contest​

Utilizing filters for AI-based automatic account classification​

You can exclude "bot accounts," "adult accounts," "advertising/promotional accounts," and so on.

Items marked with "(beta)" are estimated and automatically judged by AI, which is trained with SocialDog's unique algorithms. Since this is an automatic judgment by machine, the results may sometimes be incorrect.

Excluding users containing specific text​

To exclude users whose name, description, or location contains specific keywords, set the following filters:

  • All text [does not contain]

If you want to increase your followers​

Following users who are likely to follow back​

Setting filters like the following allows you to follow only those who are likely to follow back.

  • Follower/Following ratio greater than or equal to: 0.7
  • Follower/Following ratio less than or equal to: 2
  • Inactive: No
  • Following: No
  • Pending follow request: No
  • Number of Following greater than or equal to: 100
  • Number of Posts greater than or equal to: 100
  • Date followed: No record

Users who actively follow back after being followed will have their following count approach their follower count.

Also, there's no point in following inactive people, so exclude them.

Exclude users who seem to have just started X (Twitter), with fewer than 100 following and fewer than 100 posts.

Exclude users you have followed before.

If you want to increase your Follower/Following ratio​

Unfollowing users except those recently followed (Non-followers, Inactive)​

To keep your following list clean, it is effective to unfollow users who haven't followed back or who are inactive.

You can unfollow users using the following functions:

  • "Followers" → "Non-followers"
  • "Followers" → "Inactive"

Users you have recently followed might still follow you back. We recommend sorting by "Date followed Oldest first" to unfollow older ones, or creating a filter like the following to avoid unfollowing users you followed within the last week.

X (Twitter) rules prohibit "follow churn," which is the act of mass unfollowing users simply because they haven't followed back after you followed them.

With the following setting, only users followed before December 16, 2016 will be displayed.

  • Date followed before or on: December 16, 2016

Furthermore, for inactive users with many followers, there's a possibility they might become active again, so you can also apply a filter like the following:

  • Number of Followers less than or equal to: 1000

Excluding bot accounts​

The "Bot (beta)" filter allows you to specify whether to include or exclude bot accounts.

  • Items marked with "(beta)" are estimated and automatically judged by AI, which is trained with SocialDog's unique algorithms. Since this is an automatic judgment by machine, the results may sometimes be incorrect.

Excluding adult accounts​

The "Adult" filter allows you to specify the filter strength (how much adult content is posted).

List of configurable items in Advanced filters

In Advanced filters, you can set items such as the following:

Filter NameDescription
All textUser name (starting with @), name, description, and location.
User nameName starting with @ (@ is not needed). Multiple names can be specified with commas (,).
Display nameThis is not the user name (starting with @). Multiple names can be specified with commas (,).
DescriptionProfile description
LocationProfile location
URLProfile URL
Following countThe number of users the user is following.
Follower countThe number of users who are following the user.
Follower/Following ratioFollower/Following ratio (Follower count ÷ Following count). A higher Follower/Following ratio means more followers. A ratio closer to 1 indicates a higher probability of following back.
Post countThe number of posts by the user.
List countThe number of lists the user is in.
Number of LikesThe total number of Likes made by that user.
FollowingWhether you are following the user.
Followed by youWhether you are being followed by the user.
In Keep listWhether the user is in SocialDog's Keep list.
Pending follow requestWhether a follow request is pending.
Date followedDate you followed them. If "empty," it means "never followed before." If "not empty," it means "followed before."
Date followed youDate they followed you. If "empty," it means "never followed by them before." If "not empty," it means "followed by them before."
BlockingWhether you are blocking them. It may take some time to retrieve the list of blocked users.
MutingWhether you are muting them. It may take some time to retrieve the list of muted users.
Follow sourceWhich SocialDog function was used to follow.
Unfollow sourceWhich SocialDog function was used to unfollow.
PrivateWhether the account is private (also called a locked account).
VerifiedWhether the account is verified (whether it has a checkmark).
InactiveWhether inactive (has not posted for 30 days or more) The number of inactive days can be changed in settings.
Default profile pictureWhether the user's icon is still the default image.
Date joined X (Twitter)The date the user registered on X (Twitter).
X (Twitter) User ID (numeric)This is the internal numeric ID for X (Twitter).
Bot (beta)Whether the user is determined to be highly likely a bot based on analysis of their posts using unique algorithms.
Adult content (beta)Whether the user is determined to post a lot of adult content based on analysis of their posts using unique algorithms.
Advertising/Promotional content (beta)Whether the user is determined to post a lot of advertising or promotional content based on analysis of their posts using unique algorithms.
Items marked with beta

These are estimated and automatically judged by AI, which is trained with SocialDog's unique algorithms. Since this is an automatic judgment by machine, the results may sometimes be incorrect.

The "Gender," "Age," and "Location" items were deprecated on May 20, 2024.

Regarding "Date followed" and "Date followed you"
  • Data from before registering with SocialDog is not acquired.
  • If you follow and unfollow multiple times, the filter will apply to the date of all follow and unfollow actions.